My Review for After a Fashion (A Class of Their Own, #1) by Jen Turano

This is my first Jen Turano novel I’ve read. She can truly write an entertaining story and make a number of very good points. I love the tongue-in-cheek humor and the clever wit that takes aim at the ridiculous, pompous attitude of the snobby element of society to hit right on target to show how wrong such mindsets are. Things like “socially acceptable birth” and “social station” etc. don’t have anything to do with whether or not a person is important and likable. People should treat others like they want to be treated. That’s in the Bible.

Here’s the synopsis from the author, Jen Turano’s, website ~

Miss Harriet Peabody dreams of the day she can open up a shop selling refashioned gowns to independent working women like herself. Unfortunately, when an errand for her millinery shop job goes sadly awry due to a difficult customer, she finds herself out of an income.

Mr. Oliver Addleshaw is on the verge of his biggest business deal yet when the lady he brought to town to assist him with entertaining his potential business partner reneges on their agreement. When this unreliable, and slightly deranged, lady causes the hapless Harriet to lose her job, Oliver tries to make it up to her by enlisting her help in making a good impression on his business partner.

Harriet quickly finds her love of fashion can’t make her fashionable. She’ll never truly fit into Oliver’s world, but just as she’s ready to call off the fake relationship, fancy dinners, and elegant balls, a threat from her past forces both Oliver and Harriet to discover that love can come in the most surprising packages.

After a Fashion by Jen TuranoI think Harriet Peabody is a wonderful character whom I immediately was cheering for and would want to be friends with. I love her smart, wise feistiness. She is definitely one of the best admirable female book characters I’ve read. Her two roomies, Millie and Lucetta, are also likable and have good characters – and are very unique individuals. I like also that they all care and are compassionate, as are Timothy the driver, the preacher and Abigail Hart and Oliver’s grandfather.

It really is extremely silly the way some people put so much stock into standings and social classes and it really means nothing. Harriet being a “hat girl” as the snobs in the book kept saying, just means that she makes hats. A milliner. I just don’t understand how dumb “society” can be. Someone who actually has talent and uses it successfully benefitting people, including snobs, gets looked down on. I guess the snobs in society are jealous. That Birmingham family was really an awful bunch of snobs. I wanted to get away from them! Poor Harriet and she’d been through so much already. And on her birthday when she should have been having fun.

This novel was a little different for me, because usually, in the books I enjoy reading, the main male character is a favorite right away. Not the case here. Oliver took quite a while to turn into a person good enough for Harriet. I try to find the best in people, and it was difficult to find things to like about Oliver’s character for a while since he was clearly a snob and and had a lot to learn. His unethical business practices were his responsibility and it definitely hurt people. I applaud Harriet (and Jen Turano) for keeping with it and not giving up on Oliver. To give him credit he finally did learn and became a good character who cared about others. Compassion is very important.

One of my favorite scenes is when Harriet is introducing Oliver to some of her friends who are street vendors. Some very funny parts there and Oliver eventually learned. One thing that did show promise about Oliver is that when he first met Harriet he realized that not only was she lovely, but also intelligent and not hysterical.

The mystery is intriguing and enjoyable to figure out by the clues cleverly hidden throughout the story. I wasn’t too sure I liked the twist about Harriet’s identity toward the end of the book, but since that wasn’t why Oliver liked her then I figured that was why Jen Turano wrote that.

I’m a Jen Turano fan after reading this book and want to read more of her writing. I’m glad I have Book #2, In Good Company, about Millie, and Book #3, Lucetta’s story, Playing the Part! Reviews for them coming soon! 🙂 ****

Chaya חיה

12 thoughts on “My Review for After a Fashion (A Class of Their Own, #1) by Jen Turano”

  1. Great review, Chaya! 🙂 I’ve read this book, too and I agree. 🙂 Jen Turano is a very talented author. 🙂 I think the rest of the series is good, too. 🙂 Millie is my favorite character. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, BookGirl5! 🙂 Yep, definitely! 🙂 I have the other two in the series to review and I have more of her books to read! 😀 Cool, Millie’s a great character. I really love it when a writer has cool, fun, characters. 🙂

      Like

  2. Fabulous review, Chaya! 😀 I have read all of Jen’s books & have enjoyed every single one of them! Judging by how much you liked this one, I’m sure you’ll love the rest of the series. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Todah, Aery! 🙂 Oh, that’s cool! 😀 Yes, I really enjoyed it and I now have read all 3 in A Class of Their Own series. I need to post my reviews, you know, after I get them completed of course. 😉 Actually I have my In Good Company review good to go and will post it soon, I hope! 🙂 And may I say, thinking about how important friends are, I really appreciate your friendship and talking with you! 🙂 ❤
      I hope to read Ladies of Distinction soon! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awesome! XD Haha! Of course– I know exactly what you mean. 😉 I currently have several books that I have finished, but still need to review. Finding the time, though… 😛
        Thank you, Chaya! That’s very sweet of you to say. I’ve enjoyed becoming friends with you too & chatting when we get the chance. Can’t ever have too many friends, eh? XD ❤
        I hope you get to soon and that you enjoy that series as much as I did! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yep and my list keeps getting added to! 😀
          I truly appreciate your friendliness and fun! 🙂 Thank you so much! 🙂 Absolutely! 🙂
          Thanks! And Jen Turano has a new series coming – I added them to my want to read list at Goodreads! A novella and book 1 – “Apart from the Crowd” series. The covers are so pretty! 🙂 They should be great books! They get announced so far ahead of their release, but I guess that builds excitement. 😀

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I know, right?! XD
            Aw, thanks! 🙂
            Oh yes, I have seen that series… and it’s definitely building my excitement! I’ve already pre-ordered the novella e-book because I saw where it was free on Amazon! 😀 I can’t wait to dive into more of her fun writing style! 😉

            Liked by 1 person

            1. 🙂
              Yes, that’s awesome! 🙂 Same here! I’m just about to post my review for In Good Company which I actually had done like a month ago! 😛 Oy, I need to catch up! With summer, I should be able to. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Ah yes, I see that. 😉
                Haha! I know what you mean about needing to catch up. I’ve finally gotten somewhat caught up on blog posts… sorta. 😐 Thought summer would give me more time for that, but I’m working now & I ended up committing to going to two church camps this summer so that really cuts down on free time. 😛

                Liked by 1 person

Please leave a reply! Todah!

